Modern Nature – “Murmuration”


It’s a big day for RSTB faves around here and it’s great to see Jack Cooper’s Modern Nature in the mix. After the release of his ambitious last album, Island of Noise, Cooper again pairs with some familiar names, while letting the roster swell with a few new ones as well. In addition to longtime collaborators Jeff Tobias (Sunwatchers) and Jim Wallis, No Fixed Point In Space brings Anton Lukoszevieze, Mira Benjamin and Heather Roche of Apartment House, Alex Ward (This Is Not This Heat / Spiritualized), Dominic Lash, and Chris Abrahams of The Necks, Julie Tippetts (FKA Julie Driscoll) into the fold. Like Island, the new record is rooted in the natural world, attempting to emulate the expansive thrum of one’s surroundings, the overwhelming awe of colors, rhythms, vibrations, and sounds that seem too complex to be captured in scale.

“With this record,” Cooper explains, “I wanted the music to reflect nature: beginnings and endings, arrivals and departures, process and chance. I wanted the music and the words to feel like roots, branches, mycelium, the intricacies of a dawn chorus, neuronsfiring, the unknown.” That magic is woven into the meditative mantra of the debut single “Murmuration.” The song has a living chemistry to it that pushes and pulls against clatter and quietude, a cycle of small deaths that feed into one another over the course of the song’s nearly seven-minute run. The new album is out September 29th, via Bella Union.

Support the artist. Buy it HERE.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top