BASIC – “New Auspicious”

Been waiting on this announcement for a while now and it’s great to see the first official release from BASIC. The band brings together Chris Forsyth (Solar Motel Band), Mikel Patrick Avery (Natural Information Society) and Nick Millevoi (Many Arms, Desertion Trio). I caught the live version a couple of weeks ago, and even with MPA unable to make the gig, it was a visceral set ripped on rhythm and a Quine/Maher quicksilver sheen. The band thrives on repetition, grinding riffs into the ether with a furious glee. Nick’s baritone adds dimension to the twin guitar attack as the songs sand the edges of the soul for a few minutes. The first single brings that energy to tape, harnessing the storm from the stage and knocking it from the reels to speakers with targeted precision. The new single is out now, as the band embarks on a tour with Tinariwen and the promise of a full length waits in the wings.

Support the artist. Buy it HERE.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top