Ryan Davis and the Roadhouse Band – “Free From the Guillotine”


A brand new slice of low-slung country-dipped Americana sidles out of Sophomore Lounge this week. The debut track from new outfit Ryan Davis & The Roundhouse band picks up where Davis’ outfit State Champion left off around their last outing, Send Flowers. Album opener “Free From The Guillotine” has a slow build, letting itself spread out and enjoy every one of its 8+ minutes. Davis’ songs slice through the American landscape, staring through its most barbed and bruised locales, trying to find solace in the newly cratered terrain. The new album features a good dose of help from friends and familiar names. Joan Shelley, Catherine Irwin (Freakwater), Will Lawrence (Felice Brothers, Gun Outfit, John Early), Jenny Rose (Giving Up), Christopher May (Mail the Horse), Elisabeth Fuchsia (Footings, Bonnie “Prince” Billy), and Aaron Rosenblum (Son of Earth, Sapat) all find their way into the mix on the new record. Dancing on the Edge arrives October 27th from Sophomore Lounge.

Support the artist. Buy it HERE.

photo: Chris May

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top